High Lonesome

High Lonesome

New & Selected Stories, 1966-2006

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:

An unprecedented collection of the best of Joyce Carol Oates's short stories combined with eleven new stories

No other writer can match the impressive oeuvre of Joyce Carol Oates, and High Lonesome: Selected Stories, 1966-2006 gathers stories from Oates's seminal collections, including The Wheel of Love (1970), Marriages and Infidelities (1972), and Heat (1991), arranged by decade. All demonstrate what the Chicago Tribune has praised: "the fierce originality of Oates's voice and vision, but also how she has imbued the American short story with an edgy vitality and raw social surfaces."

Publisher: New York : Ecco, [2006]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2006
ISBN: 9780060501198
Characteristics: viii, 664 pages ; 24 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
May 05, 2019

Haven't read a lot by Oates, but several years back I read her novel " them", that won some awards(1970).
It was a novel based on real people near Detroit . She has discussed it in her writings- fact or fiction . .A critic felt she shouldn't get fiction award if novel was biographical Either way, I found it fascinating

The 15 stories I've read in this collection are interesting ,although many deal with the darker, morbid side of life.
I found the stories suspenseful and mysterious so far, with some Intriguing, memorable characters.
There's a mixture of horror, crime and melodrama . Some stories leave reader with unanswered questions , intentionally I presume.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at DPL

To Top