The Book of Joe

The Book of Joe

Book - 2005
Average Rating:
7
Rate this:
Right after high school, Joe Goffman left sleepy Bush Falls, Connecticut and never looked back. Then he wrote a novel savaging everything in town, a novel that became a national bestseller and a huge hit movie. Fifteen years later, Joe is struggling to avoid the sophomore slump with his next novel when he gets a call: his father's had a stroke, so it's back to Bush Falls for the town's most famous pariah. His brother avoids him, his former classmates beat him up, and the members of the book club just hurl their copies of Bush Falls at his house. But with the help of some old friends, Joe discovers that coming home isn't all bad--and that maybe the best things in life are second chances.

Fans of Nick Hornby and Jennifer Weiner will love this book, by turns howling funny, fiercely intelligent, and achingly poignant. As evidenced by The Book of Joe's success in both the foreign and movie markets, Jonathan Tropper has created a compelling, incredibly resonant story.


From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: New York : Delta, 2005
Edition: Delta trade pbk. ed
ISBN: 9780385338103
0385338104
Characteristics: viii, 338 p. ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
darcar3243
Jul 18, 2015

Funny and quick read.

l
lukasevansherman
Feb 02, 2015

No it's not as good as his best book, "This is Where I Leave You," but it's still worthwhile. As with his other books, Tropper deftly navigates between comic moments and melancholy ones. The scenario is a bit contrived (a man who wrote a scandalous book about his small town returns to visit his dying father and runs into people from his past), but Tropper pulls it off in a way that is funny, heartfelt, and insightful.

p
PurelyKaraSPL
Dec 31, 2014

Shortly after graduating from High School Joe Goffman leaves and never looks back, but you can’t always run away from your past and fifteen years later its time for Joe to come back home. There will be no welcome banners or a welcome home parade because when you write a best selling novel putting down everyone and everything in your home town people aren’t too enthusiastic about your return home. It doesn’t matter that your dad is in the hospital after suffering from a stroke, no one cares that you’ve hit writer’s block with your possible next novel, the bullies in high school are still going to beat you up and even your own brother doesn’t want to see you. Not to mention the copies of your book strewn all over the lawn of your childhood home by none other than the neighborhood book club! The Book of Joe by Jonathan Tropper, slated to become a movie in 2010, will have you laughing, crying, and reminiscing about your own past regrets.

Lauraparr May 08, 2014

Nowhere near as good as "This is where I leave you". It feels like it was written by a different person. Highly predictable.

f
finn75
May 29, 2013

I loved this main character - a screw up but one you can relate to. Laughter and tears in the one book. Worth a read.

b
bbb1771
Jul 15, 2012

Amazingly well written. Laugh out loud funny, sad without being sappy, human from beginning to end.

g
grapes555go
Feb 18, 2012

Really enjoyed this one. love the characters

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top