The Ability

The Ability

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
While Chris and five other twelve-year-olds learn to make the most of their mental abilities in a secret, government-run school last used in 1977, twins Ernest and Mort are studying under someone with much more sinister motives.
Publisher: New York : Margaret K. McElderry Books, c2013
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9781442450028
1442450029
9781442452008
1442452005
Characteristics: 330 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
Additional Contributors: Bruno, Iacapo - Illustrator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
blue_badger_1000
Dec 17, 2016

Fabulous book! Christopher (Chris) takes care of his grieving mother and is thought to be a troublemaker. When a lady comes and offers him a place at a school under Britain's M18, he starts to think he may be special in "save the world" kind of way.

o
obscureinfo
Jul 04, 2015

This was an exciting book about children with psi abilities (telepathy, telekinesis, remote viewing, and suggestion). Being trained by the British government to use their powers to stop an unknown threat with psi abilities of his own. The most unique plot element was the idea of a "mind map". That all your thoughts and memories are stored in various rooms that a trained telepath can move through to access information. It made the telepathy understandable.

h
HNPatel
Jul 06, 2014

Enjoyable and captivating book.

Ms_Gaye May 28, 2014

Enjoyable, even though the characters and plot are very familiar - students with magical abilities in a secret school. Kind teachers and outrageously unfair teachers. The main student has an awful home life...
The sequel was just released March 2014. Fans of Harry Potter and Roald Dahl are likely to enjoy these books.

a
aristarr
May 26, 2014

awesome! looking foward to the next book!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top