Fiercombe Manor

Fiercombe Manor

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
5
1
Rate this:
"This dual-narrative historical novel, which will appeal to fans of Rebecca and The little stranger, features two women of very different eras who are united by the secrets hidden within the walls of an English manor house"--Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York, New York : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2015]
Edition: First U.S. edition
ISBN: 9780062332943
0062332945
0062332953
9780062332950
Characteristics: 403 pages ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Riordan, Kate Girl in the photograph

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
Memawrayne
Nov 03, 2017

I enjoyed it as I did Birdcage Walk by the same author.

BookAdviserSally Sep 27, 2017

A bit of a slow start but a great ending.

Here is the recipe for a great gothic or Victorian romance: One part crumbling estate, complete with a distant, moody (yet desirable) male heir. One part young, naïve female sent away by the family she has disgraced. Add a creepy caretaker, a staff of servants with secrets, plenty of shadows, and a hint of the supernatural. Mix well, blending equal parts past and present, until the lovers are united in one sweeping and glorious epilogue. I feel like I have read this book again and again, and this one nearly fit the bill. It wasn't fabulous, but it wasn't terrible.

c
Chapel_Hill_SusanM
Nov 17, 2015

A more-gothic Kate Morton, or a more-emotional Diane Setterfield. Either way, a great rainy night read.

s
Storyz2tel
Jul 14, 2015

Haunting, alluring. For fans of Kate Morton, who want a page turner that is complex and well-written.

Quotes

Add a Quote

b
BlackCat675
Jun 01, 2016

Fiercombe Manor is one of those houses people have always been fascinated by...You glimpse places like it sometimes, usually from a train window. Lonely houses tucked into the countryside, almost hidden in the folds of the hills. You wonder who lives in them, what's happened in their history.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top