A Backpack, A Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka

A Backpack, A Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka

A Memoir

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
A compelling story of two intertwined journeys: a Jewish refugee family fleeing persecution and a young man seeking to reclaim a shattered past. In the twilight of the Cold War (the late 1980s), nine-year old Lev Golinkin and his family cross the Soviet border with only ten suitcases, $600, and the vague promise of help awaiting in Vienna. Years later, Lev, now an American adult, sets out to retrace his family's long trek, locate the strangers who fought for his freedom, and in the process, gain a future by understanding his past. Lev Golinkin's memoir is the vivid, darkly comic, and poignant story of a young boy in the confusing and often chilling final decade of the Soviet Union. It's also the story of Lev Golinkin, the American man who finally confronts his buried past by returning to Austria and Eastern Europe to track down the strangers who made his escape possible . . . and say thank you. Written with biting, acerbic wit and emotional honesty in the vein of Gary Shteyngart, Jonathan Safran Foer, and David Bezmozgis, Golinkin's search for personal identity set against the relentless currents of history is more than a memoir'it's a portrait of a lost era. This is a thrilling tale of escape and survival, a deeply personal look at the life of a Jewish child caught in the last gasp of the Soviet Union, and a provocative investigation into the power of hatred and the search for belonging. Lev Golinkin achieves an amazing feat'and it marks the debut of a fiercely intelligent, defiant, and unforgettable new voice.
Publisher: New York : Doubleday, 2014
ISBN: 9780385537780
0385537786
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

o
ownedbydoxies
Apr 08, 2015

Memoir by a man who, along with his family, escaped persecution in order to build a new life in freedom. Details his struggles to overcome childhood fears of being judged negatively because of his race, which led to him detesting his appearance and his background. He finds solace eventually, and even manages to start paying it back in terms of helping others. A good book.

ChristchurchLib Feb 08, 2015

"In this eye-opening and affecting debut, author Lev Golinkin recounts his Jewish family's desperate flight from Soviet Ukraine in the late 1980s, when he was only nine years old. He also explores what it was like growing up as a Jew in the Soviet Union (where religion was forbidden) and discusses his personal quest, years later, to retrace his family's journey from the Soviet Union through Austria and eventually to the United States, in order to thank the strangers who helped them -- and to come to terms with his past. This "hilarious and heartbreaking" (New York Times) memoir is one that readers won't soon forget." Armchair Travel February 2015 newsletter http://libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/9a28f27c-6df0-41ff-84a5-d85efbd06862?postId=8194109a-8898-4cd7-9d57-1ae32a44163a

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top