Building A Better Nest

Building A Better Nest

Living Lightly at Home and in the World

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
For fifteen years, Evelyn Hess and her husband David lived in a tent and trailer, without electricity or running water, on twenty acres of wild land in the foothills of the Oregon Coast Range. When they decided to build a house - a real house at last - they knew it would have to respect the lessons of simple living that they learned in their camping life. They knew they could not do it alone. Building a Better Nest chronicles their adventures as they begin to construct a house of their own, seeking a model for sustainable living not just in their home, but beyond its walls.

What does it mean to build a better nest? Better for whom? Is it better for the individual or family? The planet? Green building and sustainable design are popular buzzwords, but to Hess, sustainable building is not a simple matter of buying and installing the latest recycled flooring products. It is also about cooperative work: working together in employment, in research, in activism, and in life. Hess is concerned with her local watershed, but also with the widening income gap, disappearing species, and peak resources. She actively works to reduce overconsumption and waste. For Hess, these problems are both philosophical and practical.

As Hess and her husband age, the questions of how to live responsibly arise with greater frequency and urgency. With unfailing wit and humor, she looks for answers in such places as neuroscience, Buddhism, and her ancestral legacy. Building a Better Nest will appeal to anyone with an interest in sustainable building, off-grid living, or alternative communities. The questions it asks about the way we live are earnest and important, from an author whose voice is steeped in wisdom and gratitude.
Publisher: Corvallis, OR : Oregon State University Press, [2015]
ISBN: 9780870718052
0870718053
Characteristics: 191 pages ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
multcolib_alisonk Aug 14, 2015

This sweet, reflective memoir follows the author's journey as she and her husband build themselves a modest house, all while trying to live sustainably, mindful of their impact on the land. Most amazing of all is that they began their work when they were both in their 70s. Fans of Diane Ackerman, DIY living, and nature lovers will enjoy dipping in and out of this book.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top