Little House Living

Little House Living

The Make-your-own Guide to A Frugal, Simple, and Self-sufficient Life

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
A motivational homemaking guide inspired by Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, featuring creative, fun ways to live your life simply and frugally from the immensely popular blogger behind Little House Living--perfect for fans of Ree Drummond's The Pioneer Woman .

Shortly after getting married, Merissa A. Alink and her husband found themselves with nothing in their pantry but a package of spaghetti, orange preserves, and some bread crumbs. They had hit rock bottom, and only a touching act of charity was able to get them back on their feet.

Inspired by this gesture of kindness as well as by prairie living, Merissa set out to have an entirely made-from-scratch life, the "Little House" way, embracing a blissful self-sufficient existence. She rescued her household budget and started to write about homesteading, homemaking, and cooking from scratch. As whole foods became staples of the family diet, Merissa realized the dangers of putting overly processed ingredients not only into our bodies but on or near them as well. In addition to countless delicious, home-cooked dishes, she created natural, easy-to-make recipes for every household need from sunblock and taco seasoning mix to lemon poppy body scrub and furniture polish.

Brimming with more than 130 practical, simple DIY recipes and projects, gorgeous full-color photographs, and charming personal stories and lifestyle tips, Little House Living is the epitome of heartland warmth and prairie inspiration.
Publisher: New York : Gallery Books, 2015
Edition: First Gallery Books hardcover edition
ISBN: 9781501104282
1501104284
9781501104268
1501104268
Characteristics: xi, 306 pages : color illustrations ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Great ideas for homemade items, many of which make excellent gifts! You'll find chapters on natural cleaning products, health and beauty items, homemade baking mixes and simple recipes. I like the recipes for "kid stuff", especially the sidewalk chalk and simple bubble bath. Yes, you can find these recipes elsewhere online, but the book also has charming photos of her "farm life". For more, look into the author's blog, Little House Living.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top