Hopeless

Hopeless

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
11
3
1
 …
Sky, a senior in high school, meets Dean Holder, a guy with a promiscuous reputation that rivals her own. From their very first encounter, he terrifies and captivates her. Something about him sparks memories of her deeply troubled past, a time she's tried so hard to bury. Though Sky is determined to stay far away from him, his unwavering pursuit and enigmatic smile break down her defenses and the intensity of the bond between them grows. But the mysterious Holder has been keeping secrets of his own, and once they are revealed, Sky is changed forever and her ability to trust may be a casualty of the truth.--From back cover.
Publisher: New York : Atria Paperback, 2013
Edition: First Atria paperback edition
ISBN: 9781476743554
147674355X
Characteristics: 408 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
Hankate20
Jul 27, 2017

Gahhhh I love this book... oh the moment when I found out what the title meant/ was referring to
This was actually the first book I had read from Colleen Hoover and she has continued to grow in her writing and never disappoint

f
florg18
Mar 30, 2016

This book surprised me in so many ways. It was so many sad moments but such a beautiful story. I recommend it.

j
Jennifer Edward
Apr 27, 2015

This book broke my heart. It was my first Colleen Hoover book

p
Persassy
Jul 31, 2014

French the llama that was bRILLIANT.

p
patsyruth
Jul 11, 2014

I could not put this book down. Colleen Hoover is an exceptional writer. Is there really someone like Holder? I really loved this book.

r
Reyaah
Mar 24, 2014

Great book. I was able to connect with the characters and feel their emotions. No amount of words can describe how amazing this book was. Highly recommend to anyone.

cutiesmooth Nov 16, 2013

this book was amazing.
enough words said.

a
annagarcia502
Aug 22, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect when I started reading HOPELESS. But I was pleasantly surprise the more I keep reading. The title it self has two meanings and a very clever surprise I wasn't expecting. I look forward to reading Holders version of Hopeless, Losing Hope. If it's anything like, Sky's story, I have no doubt it will be brilliant. Colleen Hoover is on bucket list of author I will continue to follow.

a
afila21
Jul 26, 2013

Colleen Hoover is an outstanding author! After reading Hopeless I immediately bought Losing Hope which is Holder's POV. Both are equally amazing stories. There are so many special and also poingant scenes in this story with a life altering twist that is heartwrenching. This book deserves a few more rereads. Book lovers who enjoy coming of age books will "live" this book.

JCLBethanyT Jul 16, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this title after it was recommended to me by a friend. The book felt a little over long for a YA/NA romance to me (the print edition is 400 pages) but I was won over in the end by Hoover's weaving in of weightier stuff. Certainly for fans of Abbi Glines, Jamie McGuire and Jennifer Armentrout.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

l
liampayne
May 16, 2014

liampayne thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

cutiesmooth Nov 16, 2013

cutiesmooth thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

delwarabegum May 15, 2013

delwarabegum thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 15 and 99

Quotes

Add a Quote

k
kkgd
Jun 09, 2014

They remind me of me, and everything I've had to overcome to get to this point in my life. And while I could sit here and feel sorry for myself, wondering why all of this happened to me... I'm not going to do it. I'm not going to wish for a perfect life. The things that knock you down in life are tests, forcing you to make a choice between giving in and remaining on the ground or wiping the dirt off and standing up even taller than you did before you were knocked down. I'm choosing to stand up taller. I'll probably get knocked down a few more times before this life is through with me, but I can guarantee you I'll never stay on the ground.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top