The Yamas & Niyamas

The Yamas & Niyamas

Exploring Yoga's Ethical Practice

Book - 2009
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"The first two limbs of the eight-fold path of yoga sutras--the basic text for classical yoga--are examined in this spiritual guide to the practice of yoga. Foundational to all yogic thought, they are considered to be the guidelines to the yoga way of living that free individuals to take ownership of their lives, direct them toward the fulfillment they seek, and gain the skills to choose attitude, thought, and action. The first five guidelines are referred to as the yamas-- a Sanskrit word that translates to restraints --and encompass nonviolence, truthfulness, not stealing, nonexcess, and nonpossessiveness. The last five are referred to as the niyamas, or observances--purity, contentment, self-discipline, self-study, and surrender. A self-study section at the end of each chapter may also be used by instructors for group discussion."--Publisher's description.
Publisher: Duluth, MN : On-Word Bound Books, ©2009
ISBN: 9780974470641
Characteristics: ix, 192 pages ; 19 cm
Alternative Title: Yamas and niyamas


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Jul 14, 2016

Good overview of the ethics of yoga.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at DPL

To Top