Our Little Secret

Our Little Secret

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
They say you never forget your first love. What they don't say though, is that sometimes your first love won't forget you. Angela Petitjean sits in a cold, dull room. The police have been interrogating her for hours, asking about Saskia Parker. She's the wife of Angela's high school sweetheart, HP, and the mother of his child. She has vanished. Homicide Detective J. Novak believes Angela knows what happened to Saskia. He wants the truth, and he wants it now. But Angela has a different story to tell. It began more than a decade ago when she and HP met in high school in Cove, Vermont. She was an awkward, shy teenager. He was a popular athlete. They became friends, fell in love, and dated senior year. Everything changed when Angela went to college. When time and distance separated them. When Saskia entered the picture. That was eight years ago. HP foolishly married a drama queen and Angela moved on with her life. Whatever marital rift caused Saskia to leave her husband has nothing to do with Angela. Nothing at all. Detective Novak needs to stop asking questions and listen to what Angela is telling him. And once he understands everything, he'll have the truth he so desperately wants.
Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 2018
Edition: First U.S. edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9781250160812
1250160812
Characteristics: 264 pages ; 25 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
DPLjennyp May 15, 2018

A solid psychological thriller in the vein of Ruth Ware, Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
Gulkh
Jun 21, 2018

I loved Angela and HP's love story. It felt real and drew me in. It starts off as a cool friendship and progresses in to a relationship. Angela is completely immersed in HP and events unhinge her later on. Roz Nay tells their story in a compelling way. The ending was sort of predictable but the buildup and the many layers of their relationship was worth it.

4
4catsdogs
Jun 19, 2018

This must be the most tedious book published this year. It certainly is not a psychological thriller. The main character tells her life story to a detective - hours and hours and hours of it - and apparently he passively sat through it all - yeah right. There is a disappearance and then a murder. It is patently obvious who the murderer is and there is a feeble attempt to fool the reader and place suspicion on somebody else. The whole plot just didn't ring true. By the time the Big Reveal came at the end of the book, there is disappointment, as we already know the culprit. There is disbelief - is that it?
Don't waste your time on this one. There are so many amazing writers out there.

r
retiring_rep
May 20, 2018

If you like a well written mystery book whose plot is akin to a well crafted puzzle this book is for you. I hope there will be more novels from this author.

DPLjennyp May 15, 2018

A solid psychological thriller in the vein of Ruth Ware, Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins.

k
KatG1983
Nov 30, 2017

Honestly, this book gave me so much anxiety as I read it. You empathise with the narrator, even though you suspect you can't trust her. I appreciated the way the story flowed, and how fast paced it was. At 227 pages, it was just the right length.

debwalker Jul 24, 2017

Another unreliable narrator. Victim or villain? Nay is a rising star.

e
elkhan
Jul 05, 2017

I really enjoyed this book! Read my full review on my book reviews blog at https://elsbookreviews.blogspot.ca/ and please leave a comment on there regarding what you thought about this book! 😀

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top