Code Name

Code Name

Lise : the True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy

Downloadable Audiobook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"Reading like a thrilling spy novel and the most exciting sort of non-fiction--well researched, well written, and fast paced enough to keep the pages turning--this will interest fans of the history of espionage, World War II history, military history, women's history, and biography."--Library Journal (starred review) Best Nonfiction Books to Read in 2019--Woman's Day From internationally bestselling author of the "gripping" (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion's Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II--perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls. The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father's footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill. As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris's Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues. In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love--of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing "nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel" (Parade).
Publisher: New York : Simon and Schuster Audio, 2019
[New York, N.Y.] : Simon and Schuster Audio, 2019
Edition: Unabridged
ISBN: 9781508278900
1508278903
Characteristics: 1 online resource (1 sound file (10 hr., 5 min., 42 sec.)) : digital
digital
audio file
Additional Contributors: Reading, Kate - Narrator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top